Talk at home about…when teaching comes first!

Every year I gather numbers that help to tell the story of our school library. Those days I feel like I need a nap at 4:00 happen for a reason! Our PreK-8 space is a busy one, and the big thing I see from our numbers is that teaching, and time with students comes first!

FullSizeRender (3)

Students learned how to browse for just-right books, how to organize and locate information within our library system, practiced their digital and media & information literacy skills, took part in book groups, analyzed and evaluated resources, and lots more.

Highlights of our numbers include a 13% increase in fiction checkouts, and an increase in the amount of times I was able to plan integrated assignments with classroom teachers and visit classrooms to teach multiple literacy skills.

I am just finishing up my 8th year at CCS, and that means that I’ve been around long enough to see students building their skills as they move through the grades. They are the most important part of my day, and my job. Check out other highlights of our school year on the infographics below!
https://magic.piktochart.com/embed/6305526-ccs-library-report-2015
https://magic.piktochart.com/embed/6636296-job-description-2014-2015

Screenshot 2015-06-13 at 4.22.58 PM

Screenshot 2015-06-13 at 4.25.39 PM

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

