Talk at home about…May Madness

An unexpected find with the book returns!

An unexpected find with the book returns!

…Or…What does a stray sock have to do with anything?

Inhale…Exhale…It seems like it was just April. How did May sneak by us so quickly? I guess it could have to do with the sheer amount of stuff happening in and around the school this month! I’ll start big, then narrow my focus back to the sock, I promise.

Big Picture – May is my most active month for professional learning opportunities. Although I have an amazing PLN I’ve developed over Twitter, sometimes I crave being in the same room with my colleagues. There is a certain energy that comes along with this that gets immediately transferred to my students. Dynamic Landscapes is simply, by far, the best professional development our state has to offer. It provides a venue for Vermont educators to learn from and share with one another. We librarians have a thing or two to share!

This year, however, the best instruction came from a 13-year-old. Check out her keynote! I also had the privilege to attend the Vermont Council on Reading Spring Conference. Lucy Calkins in the morning and Katherine Paterson in the afternoon? Sharing a table with CCS colleagues? It was a gift of a day. Allowing time for inspiration and conversation will have an impact on our teaching, and our students’ learning.

Screenshot 2015-05-29 at 6.51.53 PM

Screenshot 2015-05-29 at 6.51.17 PM

Building Picture – May brought the completion of SBAC assessments (Phew) and spring benchmarks. We’ve celebrated CCS traditions like Grandparents/Grandfriends Day, and our new Kindergarteners have visited the school. Chorus and band concerts have highlighted the hard work and musical talents of our students. Teachers have been working hard to look ahead to give students a smooth transition to a new school year in the fall. These are all group efforts!

Library Program Picture – Getting closer to that sock! Research, book groups, and media & information literacy units integrated with classroom instruction have kept us busy. Other things build on to these, kind of like a Lego tower. An author visit, inventory , data collection for annual reflection, summer reading preparations, a daily landslide of book returns (thank goodness for our awesome volunteers), and…a sock? I promised I’d get back to that eventually.

When I arrived at school Monday morning, I was greeted with a desk full of book returns and – a sock. My reaction went something like this (Yes, I do talk to myself, it’s an occupational hazard)….

“Whaaaaattttttt?” “Hmmmm…It looks clean and there’s got to be a good story to go along with it!(Spoken by a mom who knows a thing or two about dirty smelly kid socks.) “Guess I’ll just roll with it.”

photo 2 (9)Of course, I have lots of wonderings about what that good story might be! As I reflect a bit about our “May Madness”, I think it just might be a metaphor for libraries in general. There’s a story attached to all that we do. And everything that we take a role in – from the big picture things, to the school community work, to the everyday teaching – is attached to a student in some way. Even this sock. I’ll keep it in a safe spot, in case anyone can identify it’s owner. I can’t wait to hear the story!

Leave a comment

Filed under Collaboration, Learning, ProfessionalDevelopment, reading

Leave a Reply

